PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help on panels?

paparoo
December 30th, 2010, 05:10 PM
Help! I got myself into a mess and cannot get out. Newbie with only a week or so of Ubuntu under my belt.

I will try to describe the problem. Please accept the fact that I will not use all the correct terminology, but I will try my best.

I seem to have lost my panels, is the best way to describe it.

When you minimize an app, the icon goes to a space at the bottom of the desktop. This is what I am calling a 'panel'.

When I minimize Firefox, for example, the icon disappears. If I'm playing a news video and I minimize it, the icon disappears. I can still hear the video.

Now I have no way to restore the app, so it runs forever. I don't know where the icon went to.

Understand? Sorry for the poor explanation, but I am new to Linux/Ubuntu.

This started when I tried to changed something in a solitaire game called Jumbo.

One solution, if available, would be to fall back to a restore point, if Ubuntu supports them. I have nothing of any importance on the system yet. But I have no backup, either.

Verbeck
December 30th, 2010, 05:23 PM
so is it the entire panel which is missing or only the window list?

if the bottom panel is missing : right click the top panel> New panel
to add the window list : right click the panel > add to panel > window list

szrobert
December 30th, 2010, 05:27 PM