PDA

View Full Version : [other] Shell Script: Newbie

AlAK
December 30th, 2010, 04:08 PM
Hi,
I am new to Linux, Ubuntu. I was trying to find the maximum number of "#"'s in a line, for all lines in a file. I had written the following shell script.

----------------------------------------------------------

#!/bin/bash
cd /home/xyz/Desktop/
countnow=0
countmax=0
n=0
cat "test" | while read line
do
countnow=$(echo "$line" | tr -cd "\#" | wc -m)
if [ "$countnow" -gt "$countmax" ]
then countmax=$countnow
echo "Till line $n Max.Count is $countmax"
fi
n=$((n+1))
done
echo "Overall Maximum is" $countmax
------------------------------------------------------------

Though I get the answer. The $countmax in the final echo gives an answer 0? It infact gives the same answer as what I set the variable to be in first2 lines. I think there is something to learn from this. Is it something about a global variable thing? Though thankfully the file I processed was small, in future, I might do something more complicated with this and would make mistakes because I missed the lesson here. Can you kindly point it out to me?

Thanks,

AK

georgemc
December 30th, 2010, 04:53 PM
Ok – going to take a shot at this one.

I think that when you pipe the output of “cat file” to your while loop, then the while loop is executed in a sub shell and when the loop is completed then the variables in that sub shell are not passed back to the main shell.

If you change how the while loop reads file then the loop is executed within the main shell.

#!/bin/bash
cd /home/xyz/Desktop/
countnow=0
countmax=0
n=0

# Remove the “cat” and the pipe and add a redirect at the end of the while loop

while read line
do
countnow=$(echo "$line" | tr -cd "\#" | wc -m)
if [ "$countnow" -gt "$countmax" ]
then countmax=$countnow
echo "Till line $n Max.Count is $countmax"
fi
n=$((n+1))

# add the redirect from your “test” file

done < “test”

echo "Overall Maximum is" $countmax