PDA

View Full Version : Some questions re the Remix please

mikeody
December 29th, 2010, 09:48 AM
Am not an absolute beginner but today I rather think I am !
Have been using Ubuntu desktop for a while and have been impressed. I thought I would instal the Netbook Remix on a fairly new Netbook.
After mastering a series of traumatic installation problems, I am now 'exploring' the Remix. Isnt it slow to boot !

I have 3 immediate problems.

1. Firefox wont open certain web pages [it did on my desktop]. I am told it is something to do with Flash player, Can any one advise on the fix please?

2. I transferrd a number of .deb files from my desktop with a view to installing them on the Netbook. A double-click on the .deb on the desktop usually gave fairly trouble free install. On the remix I seem to go around and around accepting this and that but still dont get an install. Would it be best to use the terminal and forget all the bells and whistles ?

3. And finally, for now anyway, has anyone anywhere written an 'idiots guide' to using that awful new desktop ? If not, is there a simple way to dump it in favour of the traditional desktop used on the desktop versions ?

thanks.

trinitydan
December 29th, 2010, 10:08 AM
You can solve all three of those problems by selecting "Desktop Session" (or it's something close to that anyway) from the pull down menu at the log in window and it will log you in to the normal gnome desktop environment. Then you can just customize that to look like something that actually belongs on a netbook! All three problems solved. ;)

(Sorry, I was kind of kidding about the first two problems. Someone will probably offer a better answer for those.)

mcduck
December 29th, 2010, 10:10 AM
1. Install the flash plugin. ;)