PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.10 black screen issue upon install

x ZackehSoul x
December 29th, 2010, 12:11 AM
Ok, basically I've been wanting to dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 10.10 for ages and every time I try, my screen goes black. Instead of it just failing (which was my original thought), I soon realised the screen is just REALLY dark, almost black, and you can only see it with a light shone directly at the screen. This is both during the installation and also after the installation is complete. I've tried several methods that people have suggested, none of which have worked correctly, at least as far as I can tell. I managed to get the install to be normal brightness, but as soon as I boot normally into Ubuntu it just goes dark again. Now I'm not experienced AT ALL with Ubuntu, so if somebody could step by step me what to do, it would be hugely appreciated :) So far the furthest I've gotten with it is making it boot into a command line, which is normal brightness, but obviously it's not the Ubuntu I'm wanting to use, so if anyone can expand on that to make it work properly, or give another method, I'll be hugely grateful.

Thankyou all in advance.

Oh, and my laptop and model is the "Packard Bell EasyNote TM86-GN-005UK" with the original specifications for the laptop and no modifications

Rubi1200
December 29th, 2010, 07:46 AM
Hi and welcome to the forums :-)

This is a bit of a shot in the dark, but please try the following:

When the computer starts and you see the GRUB menu and the entry for Ubuntu is highlighted press "e" to edit.

Navigate with the cursor to the line that ends with
quiet splash

Remove quiet splash and type i915.modeset=1 and then "Ctrl"+"x" to boot.

Let us know if this helps and we can then take it a step further.

Thanks.

x ZackehSoul x
December 29th, 2010, 04:06 PM