PDA

View Full Version : Running Java Programs from a Terminal

Kuo000
December 28th, 2010, 11:14 PM
Hi all,

I am just new to Ubuntu (installed it a few days ago alongside my Windows XP laptop). I normally just program Java in Eclipse and never use a terminal to compile and run my Java programs. I tried to compile and run a hello world Java program from a terminal using the GNU compiler for Java (gcj) with the commands:

> javac HelloWorld.java (a HelloWorld.class is created after this command)
> java HelloWorld

But after the "java HelloWorld" command, I got:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: HelloWorld (wrong name: main/HelloWorld)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java :634)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Secure ClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader .java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader. java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java: 212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.j ava:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:3 21)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launche r.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:2 66)
Could not find the main class: HelloWorld. Program will exit.

What's wrong with this? I think I do have the Java runtime (JavaSE-1.6 and java-6-openjdk) installed with the installation of Eclipse. My HelloWorld program simply prints a "Hello World" in the console and runs perfect in my Eclipse. Do I need to manually set the classpath for the java runtime for the program to run from a terminal, and if so how???

Thanks very much for any help.

trent.josephsen
December 28th, 2010, 11:19 PM