PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No option to dual boot install

aly625
December 28th, 2010, 06:54 AM
Alright, so first of all, I'm pretty new at this, so go easy on me. I want to install Ubuntu alongside my Windows 7, which I upgraded from Windows Vista pretty recently. I managed to get Ubuntu onto a USB drive and am able to boot it up and run it. When I try to install, though, I only see the options to erase everything and start over with Ubuntu (no.) and the option to partition stuff (which might be what I should end up choosing, but I wouldn't know what I was doing and would probably end up erasing something). But there is no option to install alongside current operating system, as the website says there should be.

From browsing this forum a little bit and going into the terminal in Ubuntu and playing around I am pretty positive that my problem is that I have no free partition space; it looks like I have 5 (which from what I've read, there is a maximum of 4, so I have no idea how the heck that happened). I took a picture of the output it gave me:
(yes, I know it was silly of me to take a picture, and I'm sorry for the glare, but I hadn't gotten internet yet in Ubuntu and I needed to get the output into Windows so I could post it here...whatever, the point is, here's a picture.)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v686/lurvely_layouts_xanga/IMG_20101227_233438.jpg

So yeah, I'm pretty sure that's my problem, I just have no idea how to fix it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Also, if it helps, I'm mainly using the C drive although my D drive is being used for Recovery (well, that's what the computer says, at least. I don't know, I've never touched my D drive but there's stuff there so I have no idea if it's essential or important or just Windows being dumb and sticking stuff everywhere.)

Thanks, and let me know if you need any more information!

Quackers
December 28th, 2010, 07:04 AM