PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] casper\filesystem.squashfs file is broken

dmeisegeier
December 28th, 2010, 04:38 AM
Hi,

I just tried to create a USB drive for installing Ubuntu on another windows based PC and received the following Diagnostic Message when running the Universal USB Installer 1.8.2.0 app:

Data error in 'casper\filesystem.squashfs'. File is broken.

However, once I click the "close" button I got a message that the installation was done and the process was complete. So I then tried to boot my other PC with the USB drive (I did change the boot order to start with the USB drive) and it looked like it was going to start up but then I got the following 2 messages:

(initramfs) mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on //filesystem.squashfs failed: invalid argument

Can not mount /dev/loop0 (/cdrom/casper/filesystem.squashfs) on //filesystem.squashfs

I couldn't figure out what to do (I'm new at this), so I reformatted the USB drive and re-ran the USB installer but got the same message. None-the-less, I tried to boot my other PC from the USB drive but got the same 2 messages.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

David

amsterdamharu
December 28th, 2010, 05:05 AM
You can try to create the usb with unetbootin (http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/) and see if that causes the same problems. If it does than I think your problem lies in the iso file being corrupt.

Sorry to sound a bit like a spammer here pushing the bootin but it always worked wonders for me and most people who I recommend it where some of the Ubuntu or other tools seem to fail.

djpinto
January 2nd, 2011, 03:36 AM
I'm having exactly the same problem with my 10.10 USB installation.

It must by the iso file because unetbootin didn't work either. I downloaded the iso directly from the ubuntu homepage. I imagine its a bug that will solve itself in time.

I downloaded 10.04.1 iso and that worked fine. I'm new too and so that's enough to get me started for now.

DP

renegademag
January 21st, 2011, 06:45 PM