PDA

View Full Version : Programming for Linux

CornMaster
April 24th, 2006, 06:43 PM
Ok...be gentle.

I think I've finally made the switch to linux, and I'm interested in porting some of my applications to native linux languages. Now there is no easy way to do this, so I'll probably have to rewrite...because most of my programs were in Visual Basic (hold back the tomatoes).

I know a little Java, and Perl. I can also do some rudimentary shell scripting. I've taken some programming classes in university, so I have a decent understanding of OO languages, but I never got to the point if designing GUIs, and if I want to make programs on Linux for public consumption, I'd really like to have a GUI, since I want to help attract new users by making stuff easier and more familiar.

So, I was reading somewhere that I can make interfaces with perl and Gnome/GTK+ but since I'm new to linux, I don't know what would be the most portable toolkit. I was considering using Gambas, since it's similar to Visual Basic, but I wasn't fussy about it's stability and really couldn't figure out what was needed to make programs run on others computers. I don't want to have my apps tied to either Gnome or KDE, and I'd like an easy way to draw interfaces (or at least a good tutorial on how to do them in code).

So, given these points, can anyone recommend a language/direction for me to take?

Most of my apps do not do any hardware access, or any specific OS functions, mostly just file maniuplation.

Compucore
April 24th, 2006, 06:54 PM