PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Server responds to ping, everything else hangs?

never gonna give you up
December 27th, 2010, 11:25 AM
Hello Ubuntu Community,

Throughly stumped here. I'm a college student home for winter break and I've got a server sitting on my desk at school that I thought was working when I left. However, upon arriving home, I checked the server to find that it doesn't work -- not even a 404 page or a time out error, the browser just hangs. To use anything other than HTTP on port 80, I need to be on a VPN.

I log into the VPN and start with the basics. The machine (which is not behind a router) responds to ping, however ssh shows the same symptoms as apache. I don't even get a connection refused or path not found or timeout error, the login literally just hangs (have had it hanging for like 30 min now).

After being thoroughly baffled by this, I ran NMAP from another machine on the same network:

[luke@xxxxxxx ~]$ nmap -A -T4 xxxxxx

Starting Nmap 4.11 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2010-12-27 03:39 EST
Interesting ports on xxxxx.stu.rpi.edu (128.113.xx.xx):
Not shown: 1676 closed ports
PORT STATE SERVICE VERSION
21/tcp open ftp?
22/tcp open ssh?
80/tcp open http?
111/tcp open rpcbind?

I have VPN access and control over other computers on the same network, but no physical access to the machine. Any ideas what is going on or how I can get at this thing? Was really hoping to have my website up so I can show off my work when applying for jobs over the break ;)

Thanks for your help!

ninja edit: omitted my IP addresses and whatnot

EmanresuusernamE
December 28th, 2010, 04:43 AM
I had a problem like this once. Check your firewall and make sure you're allowing all of the traffic that you want through to your server. I blocked myself using Shorewall on accident and couldn't get in unless the server was restarted, I didn't have Shorewall run at startup which would allow me to have someone restart the machine and then I could remote in.