PDA

View Full Version : Don't quite know how to ask for this but...

sarsar
December 23rd, 2010, 10:38 PM
Ok, so i'm pretty new to Ubuntu. For those who may have encountered my posts before, I'm a trainee teacher. Just wondering if there is an open source alternative for SMARTBOARD software, that is compatible with the Smart Boards. If so, please could someone point me in their direction?

Just with me updating every 6 months or so, its getting pretty tiresome re-installing the smart board stuff from SMART technologies, i tried to carry it over when i updated but it hasn't worked.

Just thought seen as the Smart board is becoming popular in both education and business, there may be something open source and compatible thats floating about (which doesn't take me hours to unpack and set up)?

jerenept
December 23rd, 2010, 10:42 PM
Ok, so i'm pretty new to Ubuntu. For those who may have encountered my posts before, I'm a trainee teacher. Just wondering if there is an open source alternative for SMARTBOARD software, that is compatible with the Smart Boards. If so, please could someone point me in their direction?

Just with me updating every 6 months or so, its getting pretty tiresome re-installing the smart board stuff from SMART technologies, i tried to carry it over when i updated but it hasn't worked.

Just thought seen as the Smart board is becoming popular in both education and business, there may be something open source and compatible thats floating about (which doesn't take me hours to unpack and set up)?

We have a couple smartboards in my school, and, my advice is, just use what it came with. They seem to be complex technology, and expensive too.

I'm not sure, but I think it works on some kind of touchscreen system. There may be Ubuntu drivers for it, but then again, there may not.

earthpigg
December 23rd, 2010, 10:52 PM