PDA

View Full Version : Hello World Application

CatalystCorpse
December 23rd, 2010, 10:04 PM
Hello out there in ubuntu land, my name is catalystcorpse, I like long walks on the beach and candlelit dinners by the fire. WHAT!!, shutup you idiot and get on with it *cough*. I'm fairly new to this world of yours, as in brand spanking, but I think I have a deep desire to write code (nerd alert), I do have one small issue, or hurdle lets say that I need to cross. So here goes.

I am trying to write the hello world application but It doesn't work. I have tried various forms of the code in different application like eclipse, code::block, and Kdevelop 4, but I can't seem to get it. So I have a two part question, what code do I need to write, and which program do I write it in. I want a fairly basic program that won't write the code for me, that is easy to use.

Thanks in advance.
CatalystCorpse

papibe
December 23rd, 2010, 10:53 PM
Which version of Ubuntu are you using?
Which language are you using for your app?
Could you post the code (or a link to it)?

Regards.

BTW, Welcome!

Hur Dur
December 23rd, 2010, 11:06 PM
So, if I understand the question right, you're trying to compile a Hello World program in C++?

Save your code in whatever editor you are using (I use Geany) as filename.cpp

Then go to the terminal, cd to the file's directory, and type in

g++ -o executable filename.cpp

Then type in ./nameofexecutable to launch the application.

If you don't have gcc, try su'ing into root, and running:
apt-get update
apt-get install build-essential

SteveDee
December 23rd, 2010, 11:10 PM
Check this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=497579

ac7nj
December 23rd, 2010, 11:28 PM