PDA

View Full Version : Bash programming looping over input files

tejas.deshpande
December 23rd, 2010, 03:55 PM
Hi,
I'm an absolute noob on bash programming and I wanted to do the following.

I write a solution for a programming contest problem. I have a few test cases (10 to be precise) named 1.in , 2.in , 3.in and so on and I have the correct outputs names 1.out, 2.out....

So what I want to be able to do is run my c++ program with sequential inputs from 1.in , 2.in etc and test the output given by my program with 1.in and compare it with 1.out (I figured I would have to use the 'diff' program).

I have written the code
for i in 'seq 1 10'; do ./The\ Siruseri\ Sports\ Stadium < $j.in > my$j.out; done

but its giving .in is not a valid file name.

Also, I would also like to see for how much time program ran.

Thanks! :)

thk
December 23rd, 2010, 08:48 PM
You probably already found the typo, but notice that you loop over i and then use j in the "do" section. Also, you must use backticks around 'seq'. It should be something like

for i in `seq 1 10`
do
./The\ Siruseri\ Sports\ Stadium < ${i}.in > my${i}.out
done

Crusty Old Fart
December 25th, 2010, 07:54 PM
...Also, I would also like to see for how much time program ran.

Thanks! :)
Here it is with the execution time duration you asked for, and my personal preference of a slightly different coding style:

!/bin/bash
set -e

start=$(date +%s.%N)

for i in $(seq 1 3); do
./The\ Siruseri\ Sports\ Stadium < $i.in > my$i.out
done

end=$(date +%s.%N)
duration=$(echo "$end - $start" | bc -l)
echo -e "\nScript execution time:" $(printf "%1.9f" $duration) "seconds.\n"

exit 0

v8YKxgHe
December 26th, 2010, 12:34 PM
Also, you must use backticks around 'seq'. It should be something like

The use of backticks should only be used when you're wanting compatibility with other (or older) shells. You pretty much always want to use $() over ``. Also, no need to use 'seq' when using Bash ...

#!/bin/bash
for i in {1..3}; do
done