PDA

View Full Version : New Install Questions HP Mini 210

gurgsnekr
December 23rd, 2010, 03:10 PM
Greetings,

I have a question before I try to install Ubuntu. I have a new HP Mini 210 with Windows 7 Premium with 250 GB hdd and 2 GB Ram.

I know that I can have a dual boot with Windows 7 and Ubuntu, but I am not sure how to set up the partitions. I read a previous post by someone with an HP Mini 210 and they appeared to have difficulty with setting that up. My computer has the hdd partitioned out with the system on one side and the recovery on the other. I need to keep Windows for other projects, so keeping the recovery partition is necessary. What should I keep in mind when setting the partitions for a dual boot?

I am new to Ubuntu, and when I tried the live USB on my desktop I really liked what I saw with. I thought it would be easy to set upon my mini, but when I ran the live USB, I could not get the wireless card to work, Broadcom drivers. I read about a fix where I have to have the system physically connected while I do the install.

Right now, I'm just scared that I am going to mess something up and brick my netbook.

Thanks for the help.

gurgsnekr
Pacific Time

ottosykora
December 23rd, 2010, 03:58 PM
in all such cases I generaly buy new harddrive, copy the contents of the old one to it and then start play...

But, it depends on which kind of partitions the w7 system is on. OK, the w7 will be on primary partition NTFS, no problem, the recovery might be dynamic partiton, this should be changed to basic partition first. This should be possible from the windows.
(in partition managers such dynamic is often shown in yellow color)

Then you can start partitioning with the life cd (gparted on it), shrink existing partitions, in the free space produce extended partition and in it then one home and one root partition, swap possible too.

On my HP mini, I have even separate partition for the grub files only, this makes the thigs sometimes more simple.

luskwater