PDA

View Full Version : Another silly "pick my laptop for me" thread...

Pogeymanz
December 21st, 2010, 07:54 PM
So, my wife is in the market for a new laptop. We're trying to be cheap, but also want it to last for a while. I know that is a contradiction, so I'm now faced with an optimization problem.

So just tell me which companies you have bought laptops from and whether or not they lasted a long time.

Companies like Apple and Lenovo are out of our budget. Looking for the typical bang-for-your-buck companies: Dell, HP, Asus, etc.

This computer does NOT have to play nice with Linux.

Also, how hard would it be to reinstall Windows 7 so as to clear all the OEM crapware? Is that even legal or would I have to buy a Windows 7 key?

Zzl1xndd
December 21st, 2010, 08:12 PM
When I worked as a Computer Technician I found that: Dell & HP had about the same amount of issues, Acer slightly more but nothing insane.

Lenovo and Apple I almost never came in for repair (we did sell a fair amount of both).

Personally I would go with one of the Dell business models. I have heard good things about the Vostro V130 and on the upside it does play well with Linux(you can even get it with Linux).

http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/vostro-v130/fs

root@AngryTerminal:~#
December 21st, 2010, 08:59 PM
a google CR-48! they're free ;)

MoebusNet
December 21st, 2010, 09:12 PM
Also, how hard would it be to reinstall Windows 7 so as to clear all the OEM crapware? Is that even legal or would I have to buy a Windows 7 key?

My Dell came with Recovery & Driver CD's specifically to reinstall WinXP if necessary. It also has the Windows activation code on a decal on the bottom side of my notebook. I don't know if reinstalling with the factory Recovery CD would get rid of bloatware, though. I think Dell gets paid for it, so probably includes it on the CD.

msakms
December 21st, 2010, 09:16 PM
I'd certainly recommend a Toshiba though, HP & DELL are just as good.
Good luck :)

msrie