PDA

View Full Version : Any XP users?

joelkat
December 21st, 2010, 05:17 PM
I am dual booting using my desktop getting internet through my modem to my router that I used a cord to connect to my desktop but I do not know how to connect to the internet as I am not very good with XP???

Ekeluo
December 21st, 2010, 05:26 PM
More info will be needed to offer valuable help, e.g. PC make/model(to know network interfaces), make/model of router, also whether XP is completely satisfied with your system (Device Manager will tell you this info and also about missing drivers). Right click on any 'my computer' icon, select 'properties'.

rev elation
December 21st, 2010, 05:27 PM
So it's working with your linux on the same computer but not with XP?

my initial guess would be that you don't have drivers for your network.

joelkat
December 21st, 2010, 05:30 PM
so what do I do?/?

joelkat
December 21st, 2010, 05:31 PM
where do I get these drivers?

rev elation
December 21st, 2010, 05:34 PM
Open the device manager, it can be found in the control panel or possibly if you right click "your computer" and go to properties to find out;
are there missing drivers?
what parts have missing drivers?
what brands/models are they?

then you go to the google machine and find drivers for those parts.

It's also highly possible that you got a CD with your motherboard, that CD would contain the drivers.
If you want to, post what parts you are using here and I can try to help you find the drivers.

What kind of computer is it? Are you using a laptop or a desktop? is it a brand-computer or home-made?

Verbeck
December 21st, 2010, 05:35 PM
where do I get these drivers?
whats the make/model of the ethernet controller? or the pc

uRock
December 21st, 2010, 05:39 PM
whats the make/model of the ethernet controller? or the pc