PDA

View Full Version : missing operating system

omnomnom1
December 19th, 2010, 11:07 PM
I've followed each and every single step to make a bootable usb drive, but when I try to boot from it, it says "missing operating system".

I'm using a 1008HA eee pc with win 7 starter and I'm trying to install ( by booting from a usb device ) ubuntu-10.10-netbook-i386, but unfortunately, even after correctly adjusting the boot priority in the bios to ensure the usb flash drive is 1st and even by pressing "Esc" to select my usb flash drive to boot from, I get the "missing operating system" error, then it boots win 7 from the hdd.

the problem isn't my netbook since it doesn't boot either on my pc. As for the usb flash drive, I used the suggested software "Universal USB Installer" to make it bootable.

If I forgot any type of crucial information, let me know, I'll happily add them.

Bear in mind that I'm a linux noob.

Thanks.

-Dan

dabl
December 20th, 2010, 12:35 AM
Although it is not precisely responsive to your question, if you give this guide a review, especially the "dd" part, I think you can raise your knowledge level up to where you might be able to beat that USB stick into submission: http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?topic=3107512.0

Also don't underestimate the importance of the BIOS in that netbook -- you have to enable "boot from USB", you have to include the USB stick in the list of "hard drives", you have to set the USB stick first in the "boot sequence", etc. etc.

omnomnom1
December 20th, 2010, 01:15 AM
thanks for the advice, Ive done what you mentioned without success so Im going to simply install it inside windows. It might not be as good but itll have to do.

jamesbarnhill
January 7th, 2011, 03:19 AM