PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Not installing

aroog
December 19th, 2010, 05:45 AM
hi,

i am new to linux system. i downloaded ubuntu netbook 10 edition for my lap top.

once download and my usb disk is ***pleted i tried to install unbuntu on my laptop. the current window installed on my system is windows 7.
i am unable to install Ubuntu OS on my laptop as there is a file error(cant remember the file name)that stops the installation.

can you please advise if the downloaded file was corrupted or else?

i need to know the answer very urgently.

thanks

Quackers
December 19th, 2010, 05:51 AM
Wel***e to UF :-)
To check the downloaded iso file for errors

https://help.ubuntu.***/***munity/HowToMD5SUM

When booting from the Live cd/usb if you tap the F6 key you should get a screen with some options. Run the "check cd for errors" one.

Edit
It appears that the letters c o m are being sensored! Please add them back in for the link address.

aroog
December 19th, 2010, 06:09 AM
hey,

thanks.

i have checked my file that is not corrupted. now i am left with live CD option.

i will check it out and will post the results.

Quackers
December 19th, 2010, 06:10 AM
If the MD5sum checked out ok but the cd reports errors, try burning the image again at a lower speed. The lowest possible is best :-)

aroog
December 19th, 2010, 09:50 AM
hey i am trying to do it on usb...do you think usb is the problem?

aroog
December 19th, 2010, 03:26 PM
it worked out at last.

os is installed on my system.

now i am facing another issue.

i dont know where ubuntu disappeared after installation.

i installed it along with Windows 7 in separate drive. and that drive is not visible as well.

any solutions?

waiting for response.

sikander3786
December 19th, 2010, 03:43 PM
it worked out at last.

os is installed on my system.

now i am facing another issue.

i dont know where ubuntu disappeared after installation.