PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Disk partitioner freezes on installation

csenciboy
December 19th, 2010, 01:32 AM
Hi, all.

I'm a complete noob trying to install Ubuntu Server 10.10 on my first build for use as a file/media server.

When I get to the step to partition the drives, the installation freezes. The screen says "Starting disk partitioner" and the progress bar stops at 45%. It has done this three times now, and the longest I waited for it before rebooting was over an hour.

I am installing from a flash drive containing the .iso file, and I have the following hardware (in case that matters): asus p7h55-m pro mobo, core i3-540 CPU, 2x4GB ram, WD caviar green 1.5TB, WD caviar green 1TB, and Kingston 8GB SSD.

Has anyone experienced this issue and resolved it?

Quackers
December 19th, 2010, 05:45 AM
Have you checked the MD5SUM of the downloaded iso?

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM

Have you checked the usb image for errors?
While booting from the usb tap the F6 key and you should get an options screen. Choose "check cd for errors" and see if it runs ok.

sikander3786
December 19th, 2010, 02:49 PM
Welcome to the forums :-)

Only if Quackers advice doesn't solve your problem:

Were there any partitions on the HDD previously? Are you sure the HDD is in good health?

If possible, boot an Ubuntu Live CD (desktop) and from Applications > Accessories > Terminal, post the output of this command.

sudo fdisk -l

csenciboy
December 22nd, 2010, 03:10 AM
Thanks for the info. Ok, I don't think it's a physical hard drive issue because I have tried the install with each drive as the only one connected. Also, I downloaded and used the WinMD5sum program and the iso that I'm using came back correct.