PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cant Install Ubuntu on Old PC

dmelendez34
December 16th, 2010, 04:55 AM
I am trying to install Ubuntu 10.10 on my parent-in-laws old emachines computer (Celeron processor, 512mb RAM, 80GB HDD).

I have installed it on a laptop, netbook and desktop without any problems but now that I am trying on their computer I get this message when the CD boots:

[0.024000] Kernel panic - not syncing: IO - APIC + timer doesn't work! Boot with apic=debug and send a report. Then try booting with the 'noapic' option.

I have looked through various forums but I have not found a way around this install problem. I have even tried installing the netbook edition, and Xubuntu but both of those boot CDs give me the same error.

One forum thread said to hit Esc before the disc gets to that error so I can run some commmands but any command I try gives the the message 'Linux not found' (or something along those lines.

Any help would be appreciated. I am new to the linux world so please talk to me like a child that has been using windows for way too long!

tgalati4
December 16th, 2010, 05:00 AM
I found a similar eMachines on the curbside. I installed Hardy server on it and it's been running for a couple of years.

dmelendez34
December 16th, 2010, 05:02 AM
Should I try and older version of Ubuntu then? Older than 10.4?

sikander3786
December 16th, 2010, 07:14 PM
Welcome to the forums :-)

As the error message itself is suggesting,

Then try booting with the 'noapic' option.

Did you try to boot with the noapic parameter? See here for details.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/LiveCDBootOptions#Main%20Page%20Options

If that doesn't succeed, try someother boot option from the same F6 menu. There are 6 of them and any of them might just work magically. You need to try them one-by-one.

dmelendez34
December 18th, 2010, 01:00 AM