PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] windows duel boot, one HD, no optical?

hetkat
December 16th, 2010, 12:26 AM
Hi,

I am pretty new to ubuntu, I have a machine without an optical drive booting meerkat from the only partition on the only disk. I would like to move from this situation to duel booting with windows 7. Can anyone advise on general strategy/path for achieving this? In particular addressing the following:

1) Can I unmount the partition that ubuntu is running off in order to repartition the disk? If not (how) can I partition my OS boot disk?

2) Is there any way to install windows onto a clean partition using the windows disk ISO from within ubuntu? Could I perhaps somehow mount the ISO as a drive then use Wine to run the windows installer? Would this approach break down when the windows installer restarts the machine to continue installation? I assume its impossible to boot off the ISO?

FYI I'm absolutely loving ubuntu - the only reason I want windows too is so I can play some windows games without an emulation layer.

Many thanks for any help,
felix

sikander3786
December 16th, 2010, 07:24 PM
Welcome to the forums :-)

Instead of a CD-ROM disc, the operations can be performed from a USB drive but not from inside the Ubuntu install.

Create a bootable USB:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/FromUSBStick
http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net

Resizing the Root partition is not recommended, but you have to do if you've got no other choice. Make sure you've backed up everything important from the partition to some external storage device.

For resizing using Gparted:
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/larry/resize/resizing.htm

Once created your intended partitions successfully, run a filesystem check from Gparted on your root partition. Then reboot a couple of times to see if everything is working.

Now you need to create a Windows 7 start-up USB:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=9458199&postcount=6