PDA

View Full Version : Pro Audio Hardware Support

mr_sausage
December 15th, 2010, 10:22 PM
Hey,
Now, I am still a fairly new Ubuntu user,
So please forgive my ignorance if I ask a few questions that have answers that are common knowledge.
Not my intention to offend.
However, I am a fairly heavy weight Pro Audio Enthusiast, who uses computers during the process of writing, recording, engineering and producing music. And have used computer for these purposes for at least 15 or so years.
Now, my main question is hardware support.
As from what i have seen, Pro Audio Hardware doesn't seem to be that well supported. I.e. drivers/software etc.
I was wondering if any one has approached the manufacturers of the most commonly used hardware,
or if any independent programmers/developers are working on developing drivers for some of these popularly used devices?

The companies that I personally would consider the most useful for 1st Stage development would be as follows.
Digidesign (owned by Avid) make Protools.

Protools are known world wide for their manufacture of Pro Audio software/DSP hardware/Control Surfaces/Pro Audio Interfaces.
Their studio hardware comes in a variety of configurations and are aimed primarily at Pro recording and A/V post production.
There are also countless 3rd party software manufacturers that develop products for use in the Digidesign recording and live sound environments.

Digidesign also manufacture DSP based Live Sound / Sound Reinforcement Technologies which also employ the use of 3rd Party Plug ins.

M-Audio is the sister company of Digidesign that manufactures Pro Audio hardware aimed more at the Project / Home Studio Market. They make a number of Audio / Midi Cards, Midi Controller Keyboards and Midi Control surfaces.
Many of their Audio Cards that M-Audio manufacture are compatible with the LE version of Protools, as well as being compatible with other leading Digital Multi Tracks.