PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Firefox + firebug = slow and sluggish, but only on ubuntu

mortuk
December 15th, 2010, 03:54 PM
So I am a web developer, and use firefox daily in developing / testing websites, and general browsing. This means I sometimes have a lot of tabs open.

I noticed that firefox would start getting really slow and sluggish, and eventually I would have no choice but to restart it. Now the PC I am using is no slouch so thats not the issue, but I do have firebug open a lot which I suspect is part of the culprit.

Now in my windows environment, I hate to admit but it runs a lot smoother and as it should. Also under ubuntu I now have to run chrome in order to keep some of my mass of tabs on, and chrome even under linux works as you would expect.

Has firefox just become a big bloated mess? Will I have to move over to chrome fulltime or is there something I can do about it? I have done all the usual pipelining tweaks and stuff, and I'm getting desperate!

ingeva
December 16th, 2010, 05:23 AM
Now the PC I am using is no slouch so thats not the issue, but I do have firebug open a lot which I suspect is part of the culprit.
Has firefox just become a big bloated mess? Will I have to move over to chrome fulltime or is there something I can do about it? I have done all the usual pipelining tweaks and stuff, and I'm getting desperate!
Well, I removed FireBug and there's no noticeable difference.
However, running it on 9.10 is a different world. If this is important to you,
I suggest you revert to 9.10. I haven't found any advantages with 10.10 yet. Just some new problems.
BTW, 10.04 didn't work at all for me because it didn't understand my wireless keyboard and mouse. No connection to the computer. Removing all BlueTooth software I could find didn't help (I borrowed an old PS/2 keyboard and mouse). :(

With every new revision, they seem to remove more features than they add.
They are replicating Microsoft... :(