PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiple monitors and video cards

crepincdotcom
December 15th, 2010, 01:44 AM
Hey all,

I've been using linux for roughly 12 years now but I've always avoided linux on the desktop since touching X back in the day was quite a hassle. I recently decided that rather than keeping my windows desktop full of 15 PuTTY instances, I should rock the *nix desktop.

I started by installing Ubuntu 10.10 Desktop. It detected my two monitors handing off a pci express card just fine. I decided to install the ATI drivers when it prompted me - the proprietary drivers would let me select to use the monitors separately, but would always just default back to mirroring the screens. I was unable to get it to stop that, so I had to go back to the open source drivers. Which is fine, I don't really need the 3d accel.

Roll forward a week, I ordered another video card to add another screen. I purchased another ATI card, since word on the street is that same-vendor chipsets play best together. This one had to be PCI, if this matters.

dmesg reports the new card is fine and happy, but the Monitors GUI thing doesn't detect any monitors off the new card, or report anything about it. So: what should I do to make the second video card get noticed?

Here's my dmesg output if it helps: http://pastebin.com/E0Uq86w2

Thanks,

-Jack

3Miro
December 15th, 2010, 01:55 AM
I have been running two monitors on the same Intel video card for some time now and I never had trouble. Monitors on different cards are a different animal.

First you can go to the terminal and try playing with xrandr. Try

xrandr -q
to see how many monitors are detected. You can also look at the other options given by xrandr:

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Xorg_RandR_1.2

Then try to see what happens if you try to boot with the new card only, just to make sure it works.