PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing custom kernel

palobicho
December 14th, 2010, 11:40 AM
Hello Guys,

Im a old fashion Windows user ^^ so Im doing my best in order to understand all this world of kernel, compilation and operating system architecture which is Linux. Im not a newbie; but sometimes I loose a lot of time trying to do things, that at the end, are basic #-o..

Well, I subscribed today because I'm trying to install a custom Kernel into my Ubuntu 10.
My newest kernel, the one who came with Ubuntu 10 is 2.6.35-23-generic. I tried to compile and install an older one (2.6.32.1), because I need this kernel to run in order to work with an application that doesn't support the last kernel, So Im forced to switch to and older kernel. I don't know at all if switching to and older version of kernel will crash my Linux environment.

What I did was to follow the step by step guide from this site, I think Is quite good an easy reading:
http://www.howtoforge.com/kernel_compilation_ubuntu
http://www.howtoforge.com/kernel_compilation_ubuntu_p2

Finally everything seemed to be okay. I updated grub and I acutally have the kernel displayed during booting. When I choose the older kernel, there is a Panic Error and linux doesn't boot.
The error is quite long so I will just copy some of it:

[ ] CR2 0000000080b52380
[ ] ---[end trace 93d72a36b9146f22 ]---
[ ] Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!
[ ] Pid: 1, comm: swapper Tained: G D 2.6.32.1-13102010 #1
[] Call Trace:
[ ] [] ? printk+0x1d/0x20
[ ] [] panic+0X48/0Xf3
[ ] [] do_exit+0X5cd/0X6e0
[ ] [] ? print_oops_end_marker+0X2f/0X40
[ ] [] oops_end+0X95/0Xd0
[ ] [] no_context+0Xbe/0X150
[ ] [] __bad_area_nosemaphore+0X90/0X130

there are a lot of numbers between the brackets, let me know if you need them.

Thanks in advance!

73ckn797
December 14th, 2010, 12:05 PM
One way to get an earlier kernel is from Synaptic Package Manager.

palobicho
December 14th, 2010, 12:14 PM