PDA

View Full Version : Pro Audio On Ubuntu

mr_sausage
December 12th, 2010, 07:16 PM
Hey.

I am a long term pro audio user who has recently discovered Ubuntu as a stable alternative OS to WIndows and OS x.

Over the last 15 or so years, I have used mostly Mac OS to run Midi/multi track recorders and sequencers to record and create music. although I have also used Windows OS for some time.
I turned to Ubuntu after getting spyware hacked on the Mac, and once I started using it, I realised how good it was in terms of stability, price (free) and speed, so thought that it may also be a good OS to use for multi track recording / midi sequencing.

At the moment I use Ubuntu for running email, although would like to run pro audio apps as well.

I was wondering if there were any developers out their planning to Port pro audio applications to Ubuntu so engineers / musicians can use Ubuntu instead of the other popular OS's.

The applications that I would be most interested in seeing ported (and sold for same price as on other OS) are as follows:

Avid/Digidesign Protools
Apple Logic Pro
Propeller Head Recycle
Propeller Head Reason
Propeller Head Record
Stienberg Cubase
Native Instruments Plug Ins including Traktor
Waves Plug Ins
Focusrite DSP plug ins with Liquid Mix
UAD DSP hardware support and plug ins

I think that Ubuntu has tremendous potential. Especially where portable PC's are concerned.
I wish the developers luck in their developments :-)
:KS

Frogs Hair
December 12th, 2010, 08:07 PM
I can't answer your questions about specific features you listed but take a look at the link. Ardour is in the software center along with some other music apps . See the plugins page at the Ardour site. http://ardour.org/

toupeiro
December 12th, 2010, 08:22 PM
http://ubuntustudio.org

cchhrriiss121212
December 12th, 2010, 08:41 PM