PDA

View Full Version : Algorithm problem: making a GUi frontend and backend interact

jfreak_
December 12th, 2010, 05:05 PM
I am writing a GUI in Gtk+ for a CLI program I had made in C. What I am doing now is having a separate list of code for the GUI and another for the backend. At a certain point in the backend, I want a dialog box to appear and when the user has accepted it, I want the program to continue from the same point it had left.
Is my way of thinking correct? If it is right, how do I call the function which makes the dialog box, from the backend? Till now, I have been calling such functions from within the frontend listing like this:

g_signal_connect(button , "clicked", G_CALLBACK(display_card_blank), label);

But obviously I cannot pass control to display_card_blank in this fashion from the backend, since the widgets and windows are local to the GUI code. Any suggestions?

Feel free to criticize me, this is my first time doing somewhat complex code and I would gladly accept suggestions now before it becomes too late to re-write the entire thing.

dwhitney67
December 12th, 2010, 07:55 PM
Have the back-end app send a message to the front-end app. You could use a signal, a message queue, shared memory, a pipe, or even a socket as the "glue" that binds the two applications together.

Btw, what are you currently using for the front-end app to communicate with the back-end app?

jfreak_
December 13th, 2010, 03:38 PM
OK so I have a piece of code that does what I needed, but there is a hitch. Consider this

a=1;
open_dialog(); // this goes to open_dialog and opens a dialog, and when user presses ok, increments 'a' by 1
a++;
printf("%d",a);

this gives output as 2, and not 3 as I expected, since by the time user presses ok, the control has already run along having printed 'a' as 2
What to do?

dwhitney67
December 13th, 2010, 03:41 PM