PDA

View Full Version : Do I have 32 bit or 64 bit?



Megaptera
December 9th, 2010, 07:40 PM
Just run

lscpu
cat /proc/cpuinfo


and this was the line that puzzled me (it's a cut & paste)


CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit


so what do I have here? 32-bit or 64-bit?

Thanks.

WienerWuerstel
December 9th, 2010, 08:18 PM
Open a Terminal and enter the Command uname -a and you will see what Kernel and Architecture you run.

Megaptera
December 9th, 2010, 08:43 PM
Thanks:

Linux Home 2.6.35-22-generic #35-Ubuntu SMP Sat Oct 16 20:36:48 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

but what does that entry I originally posted signify please?

Decatf
December 9th, 2010, 08:46 PM
Your CPU supports 64-bit and 32-bit. You are running the 32-bit version of Ubuntu.

I'mGeorge
December 9th, 2010, 08:47 PM
post all the output of


lscpu

amauk
December 9th, 2010, 08:49 PM
You have a 64bit CPU (x86_64)

Megaptera
December 9th, 2010, 08:59 PM
To:
WienerWuerstel
Decatf
I'mGeorge
amauk

Thanks to all of you for solving that for me, much appreciated.

karthick87
December 9th, 2010, 09:39 PM
Run this in terminal to know whether you have 32 bit or 64 bit


getconf LONG_BIT

Sample output:

karthick@Ubuntu-desktop:~$ getconf LONG_BIT
32

Megaptera
December 10th, 2010, 06:52 AM
post all the output of


lscpu


Here it is:

lscpu
Architecture: i686
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
CPU(s): 2
Thread(s) per core: 1
Core(s) per socket: 2
CPU socket(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 15
Stepping: 13
CPU MHz: 2167.000
L1d cache: 32K
L1i cache: 32K
L2 cache: 1024K

Megaptera
December 10th, 2010, 06:53 AM
Run this in terminal to know whether you have 32 bit or 64 bit


getconf LONG_BIT

Sample output:

karthick@Ubuntu-desktop:~$ getconf LONG_BIT
32


and the answer there was 32 so now I'm very confused, what have I misunderstood please?

Thanks.

racie
December 10th, 2010, 06:59 AM
i686 is in the 32-bit family.

If you were running 64-bit, you would get an output like 'x86_64.'

karthick87
December 10th, 2010, 07:05 AM
Mine is 32 bit,so it returned 32.If your system is 64 bit then it will return 64.Check yours by running the following command in terminal.


getconf LONG_BIT

Megaptera
December 10th, 2010, 07:22 AM
Mine is 32 bit,so it returned 32.If your system is 64 bit then it will return 64.Check yours by running the following command in terminal.


getconf LONG_BIT

As per #10 above, double-checked and I get:

getconf LONG_BIT
32

So I guess it's 32 bit but still puzzled why some also read it as 64 bit.

Once again, thanks.

Megaptera
December 10th, 2010, 07:23 AM
Thanks karthick87 and racie !!

racie
December 10th, 2010, 07:33 AM
So I guess it's 32 bit but still puzzled why some also read it as 64 bit.

Well, I'm assuming that the output of CPU op modes just means that you can run either 32-bit or 64-bit operating systems on your computer. Although it seems a bit strange because my only output is 64-bit, but I am able to run 32-bit operating systems.