PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HDD fixing - Needing MAJOR help!

iBlackSunday
December 8th, 2010, 02:45 PM
So I have been searching and searching for a way to fix my 120 GiB external hard drive for the longest of time and have had no luck. So far, I have tried gparted, parted, windows OS formatting tool, pretty much anything and everything to try and it it working again, but nothing seems to work. I am very new to linux (Ubuntu) and might not be using it to its full potential when it comes to this issue.

If somebody could point me in the right direction to see if this hard drive is 100% gone, or if it is possible to fix it. I am not looking to get any information off of it seeing as how its been through the wringer when it comes to formatting and all the likes. I really really appreciate any help I can get some somebody.

(Sorry for the post in the Dell section. Did not notice this forum and could not find a way to delete that topic)

-iBlackSunday

**EDIT** I decided the hard drive has just gone to **** and I no longer as going to try and fix it. The Disk Utility was what made me decide this. Thanks to all who helped.

iBlackSunday
December 8th, 2010, 02:48 PM
I was able to format it and throw a NTFS file system partition on it that was 8 MBs, but I do not know any commands or programs to see if I could fix the part of the disk that it keeps getting caught up on.

conradin
December 8th, 2010, 02:54 PM
wait,... by fix you mean its broken? Or how to mount it? can you show use

ls /dev/sd*

or

mount

iBlackSunday
December 8th, 2010, 02:57 PM
ls /dev/sd*

iblacksunday@iblacksunday-desktop:~$ ls /dev/sd*
/dev/sda /dev/sda1 /dev/sda2 /dev/sda5 /dev/sdb /dev/sdb1

mount

iblacksunday@iblacksunday-desktop:~$ mount
/dev/sda1 on / type ext3 (rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)