PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install Ubuntu 10.10 on Usb

ivan1500
December 8th, 2010, 02:28 PM
Hello i am new to Ubuntu/Linux and i want to know how to install Ubuntu 10.10 On Usb.
But i don't like Live Usb i want full instalation of ubuntu on my usb and i want to install programs and applications on it, with the live usb i can't install programs :( .
I want the easiest way to install full Ubuntu on Usb because I am a beginner in this.:D
I have 4Gb TakeMS Usb

sikander3786
December 8th, 2010, 03:43 PM
Welcome to the forums :-)

Boot from an Ubuntu disc, plug in your USB and use Startup Disk Creator found under System > Administration menu to do a persistent install.

Or you can also install Ubuntu to the USB just as you'd install it to an internal HDD. Disconnect all internal HDDs so that Grub (the Ubuntu bootloader) doesn't mess up your existing installs.

See method # 1 or more options here.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/LiveUsbPendrivePersistent

We also have an expert on USB installs. They might be here soon ;-)

Harsh Kumar Narula
December 8th, 2010, 04:00 PM
Or You can use UNETBOOTIN as well.. This also works very neatly and beautifully. Its there in the software repositories of Maverick .

sikander3786
December 8th, 2010, 04:52 PM
Or You can use UNETBOOTIN as well.. This also works very neatly and beautifully. Its there in the software repositories of Maverick .
That doesn't have an option for persistent install by default.

However, it can be made persistent. See this.

courtesy of forum member C.S.Cameron
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=9756662&postcount=4

Harsh Kumar Narula
December 8th, 2010, 05:04 PM
Thanks Sikandar for adding.... :)

ivan1500
December 8th, 2010, 06:03 PM
I install from the tutorial in pendrivelinux and now i cant install programs on ubuntu when i try to install from terminal!
How to solve this problem pleas help me.

C.S.Cameron
December 9th, 2010, 08:21 AM
Step by step for full install of 10.10: