PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HDD Spindown problem

Creed007
December 7th, 2010, 07:04 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm very new to the whole Linux stuff. Yesterday I installed Ubuntu on my homeserver. It works very fine, but now I discovered a problem (well it may isn't a problem to everybody but I don't like this^^).
Ubuntu seems to be unable to spin down the HDDs that are idling for a cuple of hours. My server is running 24/7 and at least to save a minumum of energy I want my HDDs to spin down :D

I googled a few hours but I didn't found something proper...
The only thing was this:
http://www.spencerstirling.com/computergeek/powersaving.html#harddrive
But me as a noob has a few problems with this ^^

Ans something other: my hdd's are crypted with TrueCrypt so I can't mount them like the guy in the article told me... (or?)

Please help me or tell me a distribution you kown that can handle the spindown of my HDDs (SATA HDDs).

Thanks a lot and please excuse my strange english.. I just learned this in school xD

greetz,
Creed007

matt_symes
December 7th, 2010, 07:08 PM
Hi

Have a look at the command

hdparm

from man hdparm

-B Query/set Advanced Power Management feature, if the drive sup‐
ports it. A low value means aggressive power management and a
high value means better performance. Possible settings range
from values 1 through 127 (which permit spin-down), and values
128 through 254 (which do not permit spin-down). The highest
degree of power management is attained with a setting of 1, and
the highest I/O performance with a setting of 254. A value of
255 tells hdparm to disable Advanced Power Management altogether
on the drive (not all drives support disabling it, but most do).

Might give you a starting place.

Kind regards

Creed007
December 7th, 2010, 08:12 PM
Yea, I have read something about this, but I thought this will just work if Ubuntu isn't accessing the HDD.