PDA

View Full Version : Can Dapper Do This?

Kernel Sanders
April 21st, 2006, 11:56 PM
As a noob, who's played around with Ubuntu and Kubuntu, i'm finding the KDE desktop environment more user friendly at the moment.

The only thing that I couldnt get the hang of was installing.

I downloaded firefox 1.5.0.2 from the firefox website, and compleatly ballsed it up.

I unzipped it to the home directory, so I had a bunch of random files in a Firefox folder in my home directory, and then I was at a loss. People in the "absolute beginners" section tried to help, but I had still had no idea how/where to do what they were telling me.

So I was wondering (I saw a dapper screenshot that seemed like some kind of GUI install interface?) does dapper have some kind of automated install system for the idiotic noobs like myself? Something where I could just dump a .tar.gz (or whatever it was) file into it and click install?

John :)

dabear
April 22nd, 2006, 12:56 AM
Why do you download from the fx website? Ubuntu come with Firefox preinstalled.

.tar.gz/.tgz files are most frequently used for source code, so you would have to go to a terminal and type ./configure , make and make install/checkinstall. However when I tried downloading the files directly from mozilla, they were supplied as a binary. After you've unwraped the compressed archive, it should only be a matter of pressing the file called «firefox» and choosing «run» (or something like that, running kde, not gnome atm).

Next time, if you don't find the package you want in synaptic, try to find a .deb package (resembles .exe-windows files), which can be installed(including dependencies) through the gdebi program

prizrak
April 22nd, 2006, 01:05 AM
Ubuntu comes with a very outdate version of FF. To install FF 1.5.02 you just decompress (unzip) the files into some folder (call it Firefox for instance). To run it you just double click on the file named "firefox" if it prompts you whether you want to run it or view it hit run.