PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation/Network ?'s help!

gixxxerjoe
December 6th, 2010, 06:01 AM
I'm a newb to UBUNTU, or anything linux for that matter, so please bare with me. Also not sure if I'm posting this in the right forum, if so, I apologize in advance. So here is the situation: I am currently running a compaq presario laptop thats a few years old, about 2-3. I'm running windows7 on it with an amd sempron processor and 4gb ram, so it's not completely outdate yet.

Today I decided I would go to the "dark side" and try out linux. I downloaded ubuntu 10.10 for netbook (UNE?), installed it on a usb flashdrive, and rebooted. Entered bios, changed the boot order to boot first from usb. Upon booting, I was given the option to install 10.10 or run it directly from the usb (im guessing this is equivalent to a "Live CD"). I was able to enter "UBUNTU" as the usernm, and leave the pw field blank, and "log on". I was able to play around with some of its features and look around.

I really liked it.

"Lets go for it", I say to myself...

I reboot and choose the option of "installing along side existing OS". (DUAL BOOT). Everything seems to be going fine, it copies all the files, etc., etc., asks me for my time zone, computer name, usernm/pw.... And that's where I get stuck. It says something about trying to get the time info/data/whatever from the server.

I tried connecting to the internet to no avail. I tried messing with the wireless settings on UBUNTU, I tried to connect it directly through Ethernet (Hardwire), but nothing seems to work?

When I had it hardwired, it did show the connection, and that it had 100mbps speed. I tried adding the dns settings to match what I have on my desktop, but nothing worked! I know I am missing something here, and have tried the search option, and have read multiple threads here, but can't seem to find someone that has or had the same issue. I thank you in advance for any help!
:popcorn:

gixxxerjoe