View Full Version : [SOLVED] HELP - Ubuntu does not recognize my internet connection

David Cash
December 6th, 2010, 04:48 AM
As a long-time Windows user, forgive my naivete but I'm new to Linux.
On trying to install Ubuntu 10.10, my first PC was fine. I next attempted to install it on a Lenovo Q150 using the Ubuntu Live CD, but it did not recognize a network connection. When the same PC is running Windows 7, the network connection is fine.

I have a cable modem attached (wired) to which are two PCs, a NAS drive and (I know this bit's messed up and I need to sort it out) a Linksys router. My wife connects wirelessly to this router. So both of the PCs I have tried Ubuntu Live with are wired. One of the PCs is fine, and the other displays the "no network connection" icon. In Windows, the network is fairly robust, and everyone can see everyone else.

I'm sure that someone else has posted this, but a couple of hours' searching revealed nothing. Any help would be appreciated (posted in the Installation forum also).

December 6th, 2010, 05:58 AM
Open a terminal and post the results from
cat /etc/network/interfaces
That will give us some info to work off of.

David Cash
December 7th, 2010, 12:47 AM
Thanks. Terminal output:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation N10 Family DMI Bridge (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)