PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.04 doesnt work after install

Mr.Z53
December 5th, 2010, 11:37 PM
Im totally new to Ubuntu and anything linux so bear with me, i dont know all of the tech terms or anything.

Anyways, i have an HP Compaq desktop that had Windows XP on it but it got so bogged down with downloads and installs that it barely worked anymore. I lost my system recovery cd and decided that i would just replace everything with Ubuntu. I burnt the Ubuntu 10.10 32bit live cd, and installed. afterwards, i was unable to boot anything at all. i read that some older computers had problems running 10.10 so i burnt and installed 10.04 LTS, upon rebooting after 10.04 install, a line of code flashed accross the top of the screen, the screen went lucid black and i heard a sound like african drums or somthing. nothing else happens! i need help, thanks.

Mr.Z53
December 6th, 2010, 12:06 AM
Im totally new to Ubuntu and anything linux so bear with me, i dont know all of the tech terms or anything.

Anyways, i have an HP Compaq desktop that had Windows XP on it but it got so bogged down with downloads and installs that it barely worked anymore. I lost my system recovery cd and decided that i would just replace everything with Ubuntu. I burnt the Ubuntu 10.10 32bit live cd, and installed. afterwards, i was unable to boot anything at all. i read that some older computers had problems running 10.10 so i burnt and installed 10.04 LTS, upon rebooting after 10.04 install, a line of code flashed accross the top of the screen, the screen went lucid black and i heard a sound like african drums or somthing. nothing else happens! i need help, thanks.

laidback
December 6th, 2010, 01:44 AM