PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ububtu 10.10 no desktop after login!

illuminate42
December 5th, 2010, 03:28 PM
Hi, I'm quite new to Ubuntu but have been using 10.04 on my Compaq Presario 2100 laptop for a while now and decided to try v10.10. Rather than just installing 10.10 and hoping for the best I decided to boot the v10.10 LiveCD to check it would run ok... it did. I then decided to try installing 10.10 using the option to install using the entire disk. Everything seemed to go ok until I tried to log in. After entering my password and hitting enter, I am left with the desktop wallpaper and a mouse pointer!! If I hit <Ctrl><Alt><F1> I can get to the command prompt which reports:

AC'97 1 access is not valid [0xffffffff], removing mixer
ali mixer 1 creating error.

I don't know if this has anything to do with the problem but sound seems to work ok and it runs fine in "Safemode". I have used the same disk to successfully install a different PC and have tried reinstalling the laptop but same problem. |I don't know that much about linux and would like to have a go at troubleshooting but don't really know where to start. Can anyone guide me through this?

Many thanks.

sikander3786
December 5th, 2010, 03:32 PM
Welcome to the forums :-)

We need to know more about your hardware. Please post the output of these commands.

lspci | grep VGA

free -m

sudo lshw | grep Processor

And in the mean time, try reconfiguring your graphics.

sudo mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.old

It might throw an error like file not found. Ignore it and proceed to the next one.

sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Reboot.

sudo shutdown -r now

Lets see if it is able to boot properly now. If not, post the output of first 3 commands.

illuminate42
December 5th, 2010, 04:30 PM
Thanks for your response.

lspci | grep VGA
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility u1

free -m
total: 937 used: 310 free: 627 shared: 0 buffers: 19 cached: 137