PDA

View Full Version : Why does ustring exist?

DarkAmbient
December 5th, 2010, 01:46 PM
Im rather new to gtkmm. Since I've started I've gotten a bit curious why you need (Glib's) ustring.

To me, ustring seems to work alot like and looks alot like (std's) string. So why doesn't gtk+ make use of std::string?

Hopefully this isn't one of those dumb questions. ;-)
Cheers ~ R

SledgeHammer_999
December 5th, 2010, 01:54 PM
From the Glib::ustring docs (http://library.gnome.org/devel/glibmm/unstable/classGlib_1_1ustring.html)

Detailed Description

Glib::ustring has much the same interface as std::string, but contains Unicode characters encoded as UTF-8.

About UTF-8 and ASCII

The standard character set ANSI_X3.4-1968 -- more commonly known as ASCII -- is a subset of UTF-8. So, if you want to, you can use Glib::ustring without even thinking about UTF-8.

Whenever ASCII is mentioned in this manual, we mean the real ASCII (i.e. as defined in ANSI_X3.4-1968), which contains only 7-bit characters. Glib::ustring can not be used with ASCII-compatible extended 8-bit charsets like ISO-8859-1. It's a good idea to avoid string literals containing non-ASCII characters (e.g. German umlauts) in source code, or at least you should use UTF-8 literals.

You can find a detailed UTF-8 and Unicode FAQ here: http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~mgk25/unicode.html

Glib::ustring vs. std::string

Glib::ustring has implicit type conversions to and from std::string. These conversions do not convert to/from the current locale (see Glib::locale_from_utf8() and Glib::locale_to_utf8() if you need that). You can always use std::string instead of Glib::ustring -- however, using std::string with multi-byte characters is quite hard. For instance, std::string::operator[] might return a byte in the middle of a character, and std::string::length() returns the number of bytes rather than characters. So don't do that without a good reason.