PDA

View Full Version : Is Python really weak in GUI design?

zhaotianwu
December 5th, 2010, 10:07 AM
I'm seeking ideas about Python's GUI design strength. I've heard someone say that using Python to design a WYSIWYG GUI is a painful experience, and Python's GUI is even worse than Visual Basic's. But I've also heard quite opposite opinions that indicate Python's GUI design is much better than Java Swing. Since I really don't know which one is accurate, and I really have a keen interest in Python, I'd like to hear some advice here. Many thanks!

By the way, I'm a totally newbie to Python, can anybody throw in some advice about good Python tutorials(preferably free) and good forum?

NightwishFan
December 5th, 2010, 10:10 AM
This taught me everything I needed to know to make simple GUI apps.
http://www.tuxradar.com/content/python-pygtk-webkit-20-minutes

Tony Flury
December 5th, 2010, 10:36 AM
I'm seeking ideas about Python's GUI design strength.
The point is that the Python Language does not support GUI Designs per se - what it does is support the use of libraries and toolkits that allow you to create and use GUIS - GTK, QT, TK are some for instance.

I've heard someone say that using Python to design a WYSIWYG GUI is a painful experience, and Python's GUI is even worse than Visual Basic's.

As above - python does not have a GUI of it's own - but depending on the toolkit library you use, and the supporting tools you use you can make GUI design very easy - for instance the combination of Glade and the GTK library makes GUI design very easy in fact a lot easier than VB - every tried to write a generic window in VB that resizes nicely - including the layout expansion etc.

But I've also heard quite opposite opinions that indicate Python's GUI design is much better than Java Swing. Since I really don't know which one is accurate, and I really have a keen interest in Python, I'd like to hear some advice here. Many thanks!