PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] the everlasting sluggish kubuntu

fahd
December 4th, 2010, 11:33 PM
I have been using linux for 11 years. I am a devout linux user. I like kde. During the last 6 years i recognised that, kde became buggy thus it is always sluggish and bloated. Also I have been using kubuntu for 3 years, and i get the same results, buggy ..etc. It seems that the kde development should be rethinked, so it is not shame to rewrite the code from scratch. What ever version you get from kde, it will stay on that spot of bugs and wrong libs. My regards.

Fahd

inobe
December 5th, 2010, 05:35 AM
i think you are mistaken, i believe you are using the kde base system and you haven't added the kde repo that involves building.

the base system after installing kubuntu from live cd is at best buggy, this will apply to any live cd, even opensuse live cd, however if you went ahead and downloaded opensuse "DVD" you will have a better experience because the dvd includes the extra kde packages a live "cd" cannot possibly store ;)

please include your system specs, i have an older 6year old hp running kubuntu and opensuse 11.3

3Miro
December 5th, 2010, 02:28 PM
Kubuntu is a bad example of KDE, everything in the Ubuntu repos is oriented towards Gnome, so naturally Kubuntu has some issues.

For good KDE distros check out: Sabayon, Slackware, Arch (somewhat more advanced), Mandriva, PCLinuxOS. I have not used OpenSusa so I cannot comment on it.

Overall I find KDE very stable, there may be an issue with your hardware. KDE likes Nvidia and dislikes ATI. Intel's video is not too good either.

desnaike
December 5th, 2010, 02:56 PM
i think you are mistaken, i believe you are using the kde base system and you haven't added the kde repo that involves building.