PDA

View Full Version : [other] linux and gaming

joeoshawa
December 2nd, 2010, 07:30 PM
I am not a programmer or a game developer. I would even use the term "computer geek" very loosely cause any problems i have i google and usually find the solution here. That being said I am not sure the proper location for this discussion and i am not an expert on the subject but i ran across an article by a game developer who ported to Linux and commented as to why more developers don't.

http://linuxlock.blogspot.com/2010/05/why-games-dont-get-ported-to-linuxa.html

before all sorts of flaming responses get written i would like to say that Linux
(A) does need more games
(B) developers obviously have a reason for not porting
(C) If you ever want that to happen we need to help them turn reasons against into reasons for.

I know i am not a programmer and don't know a whole lot about Linux but i read programmer's talking about problems with too many distro's and too many different window systems etc. a lot. would it be possible to create a front-end that would act like a router for games, like the game puts out audio and the front end sends it to alsa it puts out video and the front end sends it to the nvidia driver. something where how it talks to gnome or kde or any other window manager and any other distro is different but how it talks to the game is always the same.
If the answer to what i have said is no how could this problem be solved how could a developer create software that could be installed no problems on various platforms without them creating 100's of different versions of the game. One package one installer no mess. Linux is so incredibly stable there must be a way for it to be easer to write a game for Linux then for windows. And how can i help.?
I WANT GREAT GAMES for the best operating system ever.

gdonwallace
December 2nd, 2010, 07:49 PM