PDA

View Full Version : [mythbuntu] Mythbuntu 10.10, mythTv, libvdpau and nvidia

dian_h
December 2nd, 2010, 04:23 AM
Allrigt, I am a noob, so take it easy with me ;)

I installed mythbuntu 10.10 a couple of days ago.
I had problem with my Nvidia card (as everyone else it seems).
I have a Geforce3 Ti500 GPU card (and I am running on a 32-bit version).

First I had to enable all the (almost all) flags in the installation gui by pressing F6 (other options) (using live CD).

Then when the installation was made, it all froze at the startup.
I managed to get a prompt by holding ESC at startup (I never got it to work with CTRL+ALT+F1, it was perhaps me or perhaps that won't work before the system is restarted and the installation complete?).

Allright, to be able to startup, I downloaded new drivers (well, old ones it seems),
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.19-pkg1.run

I tried to install them (un-successfully) with following command:
sudo ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.19-pkg1.run
(have also tried with sudo sh ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.19-pkg1.run )

The script told me that it didn't work, and I didn't manage to get much more info from it.
"The distribution-provided pre-install script failed".
(How can I get more info about the reason?)

Anyhow, after that I removed existing nvidia-drivers, and restarted and then installation worked and after that the freeze was gone.
(the installation process also disabled the nouveau, but I don't think that will affect it, right?)

However, when I try to configure mythTv backend I get an error-message telling me that the libvdpau.so.1 can't be found.
Not strange at all, since the file is not there.
The thing is that it was there before I removed the nvidia drivers, but never came back when I installed them again.

I believe that I removed the drivers in a bad way:
sudo apt-get --purge remove nvidia-*

Do you know if the fault was caused by my removal?
Do you have any ideas, how I can remove it in a better way?