ozmann54
December 1st, 2010, 04:59 AM
i have a Dell that is giving me the following message:

he configuration defaults for
GNOME Power Manager have not
been installed correctly.
Please contact your computer
administrator.

I am totally new to this system and need step by step help to resolve this...
thanks

cariboo
December 1st, 2010, 05:15 AM
I would suggest you go to System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager, search for gnome-power-manager and mark it for re-installation.

terobin
March 3rd, 2011, 11:59 PM
I'm getting the error on my netbook, and it's not letting me log in to fix it.

Is there a way I can force my way in to try and fix it? Otherwise I guess I'll just have to reinstall, which is an inconvenience.

lz1dsb
March 4th, 2011, 12:27 AM
What kind of error are you getting? Could you share some outputs with us?

terobin
March 4th, 2011, 02:19 AM
When I turn it on there's an error message in the top right hand corner of the log in screen. It says,

"Install problem!
The configuration defaults for GNOME Power Manager have not been installed correctly.
Please contact your computer administrator."

When I try and log in in any of the modes, they all just send me back to the login page with the same message.

I'd be quite happy to reinstall Ubuntu, I downloaded it and followed the instructions to put it on a USB device, and went into BIOS to set it to boot from that device, but it keeps ignoring it.

lz1dsb
March 4th, 2011, 02:04 PM
Do you try to run Ubuntu from live USB? In order for this to work, you need to start your machine with the USB stick plugged in and select it as a preferred device from the BIOS menu. Otherwise it won't work.
For the other problem. Did you try to reinstall the Gnome-power-manager package?

Cheers,
Boyan

terobin
March 4th, 2011, 04:01 PM
The BIOS is set to boot from the USB stick, I selected it by name. It's just ignoring it though.