PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to install iodine on an ubuntu server

diwa
November 30th, 2010, 09:41 PM
hello ubuntu experts

I've downloaded iodine-0.6.0-rc1.tar.gz and opened it in windows7 with 7-zip. the result is the folder iodine-0.6.0-rc1. now i would like to install the package on a linux server with ubuntu 6.0.6. tentatively i copied it to /usr/lib (with full rights) and executed 'apt-get install iodine', without success. moreover: aptitude didn't find iodine, and updating yielded nothing, too.

you see i'm not yet an ubuntu expert. what should i better do? i'm grateful for your help. - diwa

sikander3786
November 30th, 2010, 10:01 PM
Welcome to the Forums :-)

Remember I am not an expert either :-)

Did you see the extracted .tar.gz for a file named Install or Readme? It might contain the installation instructions.

apt-get won't be able to install that .tar.gz. See the link below for instructions.

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/how-to-install-source-files-in-ubuntu.html

Or you can also use checkinstall.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CheckInstall

Remember, don't extract the package. Move it to your Ubuntu as it is i.e, in .tar.gz format.

diwa
November 30th, 2010, 10:24 PM
thank you for your quick answer. - i've followed the two links given. but there are two questions left for me:

(1) i shall copy the file.tar.gz to the ubuntu-vserver, well, but into what folder (root?).

(2) i have to extract file.tar.gz. but which are the commands therefor?

when that is accomplished i will try to follow the instructions connected with your links. - best - diwa

sikander3786
November 30th, 2010, 10:41 PM
1. Put that in your /home directory.

2. Extract using

tar -zxvf iodine-0.6.0-rc1.tar.gz

Then cd to the extracted directory.

cd iodine-0.6.0-rc1

./configure

make

sudo make install

clean install

diwa
November 30th, 2010, 10:52 PM