PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Connecting to the wireless

teaicky
November 30th, 2010, 08:57 AM
Hey everyone,

I just downloaded Ubuntu on my HPmini, so I'm really new to it... I got a problem connecting to the wireless. I have searched bunch of guides and materials online, but still haven't solved the problem.

I found this post http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1349254 in the forum, but I couldn't open the .iso link he provided (it has been removed...). Also, I couldn't install apt-get install wicd since I'm not connected to the internet. I just didn't figure out a way how to connect the wireless.

Anyway, here is what I got when I clicked on the network connection.

Wired Network
disconnected
VPN Connections >

Also, here is what I got entering the code "iwconfig"

lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.

Thanks a lot...!

mr_luksom
November 30th, 2010, 09:54 AM
Does ubuntu recognize your wireless card?

lshw -c network

teaicky
December 1st, 2010, 10:19 AM
But I am not using a wireless card...
Anyway here is what I got.

*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 02
serial: 60:eb:69:6e:4a:a6
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI latency=0 multicast=yes
resources: irq:42 ioport:5000(size=256) memory:50010000-50010fff memory:50000000-5000ffff memory:50020000-5002ffff
*-network UNCLAIMED
description: Network controller
product: BCM4313 802.11b/g LP-PHY
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
version: 01
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
resources: memory:56000000-56003fff

teaicky
December 1st, 2010, 08:55 PM