PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] no sound anymore on ubuntu 10/10

Georgia De La Salle
November 30th, 2010, 04:40 AM
I had sound on the Ubuntu 10/4. Then with the upgrade, I had sound here and there on the Ubuntu 10/10, and if no sound at all, would restart until I got sound. Then I reinstalled the Ubuntu 10/10 cleanly. Again I had sound halfway, but enough to play music videos. Now after running some AlsaDriver updates, I have no sound anymore, even if I restart. Friends have suggested to look at the AlsaMixer, PulseAudio, and Sound Mixer, but I don't know where to find that. I found the others on the terminal, but am not sure exactly what I should do. I'm new to Linux. It's not the sound card, because I have sound Windows-side. So please any advice? Another friend thinks that I must wait until the next Ubuntu version update in 6 months, to fix this sound problem. I have an Acer-Aspire 7736ZG laptop.

00arthuryu
November 30th, 2010, 06:18 AM
try going into alsamixer through terminal

alsamixer
make sure you have not muted anything
M for mute
Arrow keys for navigation
:popcorn:

Georgia De La Salle
December 1st, 2010, 10:17 PM
Thankyou, I'd already checked AlsaMixer on the Terminal from advice on the French Ubuntu forum, as I live in France. I didn't know about the arrow keys for navigation. All the registers on the left, starting with Master, are up in the red. On the right, all the registers, except Mic(rophone) are empty, so I put them up into the white with the arrow keys. However after checking YouTube, I still have no sound. I haven't restarted yet, but I doubt this will make a difference. I've been advised to get rid of PulseAudio completely, but I'm not confident to do so, because I'm just a beginner, and this might make things worse. Do you know where the Sound Mixer is? I've also been told to find it. Thanks again for any help.

mrwaistcoat
December 3rd, 2010, 01:24 AM
I've got the same problem