PDA

View Full Version : Problems and questions about installation.

synthetics
November 30th, 2010, 02:54 AM
Hello! I'm rather new to Ubuntu ( and Linux in general ). Today I got my disc for the install of Ubuntu 10.04. As soon as I got home I attempted to download it, however I recieved an error message. It read :

No network interfaces were found. The installation system was unable to find a network device.
You may need to load a specific module for your network card, if you have one. For this, go back to the network hardware detection step.
I was really confused. I went back and repeated the steps a few times but it never recognized my network card. ( Which I must admit, I don't really know what that is but I'm certain I have one nonetheless. )

Anyways at this point I decided to continue with the download, hoping that once I got the whole thing download I would be able to either figure out what the problem was and fix it. However the next step with the partitioning confused me as well. What I want to do is make my computer completely run on only Ubuntu. I'm using Ubuntu with wubi right now and I love it. Is there a partitioning option to do this: completely erase the windows part of my computer and completely run on Ubuntu? My computer didn't come with a reformatting disc so at this point I can't exactly do that. If necessary I will get one, but if it's just as simple as choosing a partitioning option then I'd much rather do that.

Anyways I know this is really long and I might not be making much sense, but anyone willing to help me out would be great. When I got to the partitioning options I aborted the download until I can figure stuff out. As much as I would love to have Ubuntu right this moment I'm not willing to download it if it will mess up my computer. Especially since I have next to no idea what I'm doing.

Thanks everyone in advance!

synthetics
November 30th, 2010, 05:36 AM
Bump.
:C

synthetics
December 1st, 2010, 03:01 AM