PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] in need of installation help

threeRs
November 28th, 2010, 07:00 PM
hey everyone, im completely new to linux. i wanted to install ubuntu on my laptop (hp pavilion zd8000) because it had some virus on it and wouldn't get past the "loading windows" screen.

i took the hard drive out, scanned it and backed everything up on my desktop, then reformatted the drive. i first tried reinstalling the hard drive and then starting the computer and trying to boot from usb, but that didn't work (it said something about a media cable missing i think. one important note: the cd drive in my laptop is dead, so i can't install ubuntu from that. then i took the hard drive back out, plugged it into my desktop, downloaded Unetbootin, and used that to put the .iso file onto the hard drive. i put the hd back in the laptop and it said "NTLDR is missing" and wouldn't start.

so i am stuck, and would greatly appreciate any help. i have tried reading tutorials on installing ubuntu to external hd's, ubs sticks etc., but to no avail. thanks!

edit: my desktop is windows xp if that helps

threeRs
November 28th, 2010, 08:32 PM
hey everyone, im completely new to linux. i wanted to install ubuntu on my laptop (hp pavilion zd8000) because it had some virus on it and wouldn't get past the "loading windows" screen.

i took the hard drive out, scanned it and backed everything up on my desktop, then reformatted the drive. i first tried reinstalling the hard drive and then starting the computer and trying to boot from usb, but that didn't work (it said something about a media cable missing i think. one important note: the cd drive in my laptop is dead, so i can't install ubuntu from that. then i took the hard drive back out, plugged it into my desktop, downloaded Unetbootin, and used that to put the .iso file onto the hard drive. i put the hd back in the laptop and it said "NTLDR is missing" and wouldn't start.