PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to locate package

janko68
November 27th, 2010, 09:56 PM
I just installed Ubuntu 10.10 Server and started playing with it. I would like to install some additional packages using apt-get, but every time I am confronted with "E: Unable to locate package xyz". What's wrong?

efflandt
November 27th, 2010, 10:01 PM
Are you doing sudo apt-get install xyz? It may depend which repository those packages are in and whether those repositories are enabled. I am no expert on apt-get, but if you list which packages you are looking for, someone may be able to help.

janko68
November 27th, 2010, 10:11 PM
Are you doing sudo apt-get install xyz? It may depend which repository those packages are in and whether those repositories are enabled. I am no expert on apt-get, but if you list which packages you are looking for, someone may be able to help.
Yes, I am doing sudo apt-get install xyz. I am trying to get any package, tried to install ethtool, apache2 and some others. Always get the same error.

Frogs Hair
November 27th, 2010, 10:15 PM
Hi and Welcome

That will happen if the package name is typed incorrectly , you can double check package name in the software center or install from there. The terminal is case sensitive for some operations , use lower case for installing packages. sudo apt-get install name

janko68
November 27th, 2010, 10:42 PM
Hi and Welcome

That will happen if the package name is typed incorrectly , you can double check package name in the software center or install from there. The terminal is case sensitive for some operations , use lower case for installing packages. sudo apt-get install name
Thanks, but that is not the case. I am sure that I typed the package names correctly.

EMWolf
December 1st, 2010, 10:13 PM
I just installed Ubuntu Server 10.10 as well and I'm having the exact same problem.

Is there anyone who can help with this issue out there?

sikander3786
December 1st, 2010, 10:38 PM