PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] black screen in ubuntu 10.10 x64 installation

sim0s
November 26th, 2010, 11:35 PM
Hello guys,

I am new to ubuntu forums and generally to linux OS.
I have a Sony Vaio VPCS13C5E with OS Windows 7 Ultimate and graphic card NVidia GeForce 310M.
I am trying to install Ubuntu 10.10 x64 but when I boot the laptop I only see a black screen and nothing else. Everything it seems to stop.
I have read in some other threads that is a graphic card problem but I still can't solve it.

Could you please help me to solve this issue?
I 've been struggling with this problem the whole day.

Thanks,
Simos

Rubi1200
November 27th, 2010, 05:56 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums :)

Try this to boot the LiveCD:

Put the LiveCD in and boot up;

when you see the Ubuntu logo hit Enter;

Choose language and leave the default Try as a live cd or whatever it says again;

Important: hit F6 and then Esc to see the boot line

file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.lz quiet splash --

Now, again this is important, move the cursor backwards and remove quiet splash;

Add the following parameter:

nomodeset

In other words, the boot should look like this:

file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.lz nomodeset --

Now hit Enter and hopefully you will be at the desktop of the LiveCD and from there try installing.

snuffmeister
November 27th, 2010, 07:31 PM
Hi, I've got a similar laptop, the Vaio VPC F12 M1E with an Nvidia Geforce 330M. The problem here is Ubuntu's open source display driver for nvidia, the 'nouveau'

If you try a couple of times you can boot into the live cd and install, but there's a mismatch resolution problem (way too big for the screen)

The problem persists after install, and I don't know how to solve it. I think I have to change the drivers to Nvidia's proprietary ones but I don't know how to do that...

sim0s
November 27th, 2010, 07:32 PM
Hello Rubi and thanks for your help.