PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot install 64 bit v9.10 or 32 bit v10.10

10-78
November 26th, 2010, 08:55 PM
Hi, I'm a novice on Ubuntu.

I have an MSI 785GTM-E45 mobo with an Athlon 64 CPU. I previously had Ubuntu v9.10 installed via CD and verified with MD5SUM on this PC. After installing a different HDD I cannot install v9.10 with the same CD. After reaching the "Install Ubuntu" screen I get the following message no matter which choice I pick from the menu:

BusyBox v1.13.3 (Ubuntu 1:1.13.3-1ubuntu7) built in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
(initramfs) Unable to find a medium containing a live file system

Then I downloaded 32 bit v10.10, burned it to a CD and verified it with MD5SUM. After seeing the Ubuntu logo with scrolling dots, I get the following message:

BusyBox v1.15.3 (Ubuntu 1:1.15.3-1ubuntu5) built in shell (ash)

I've installed another HDD and gotten the same results. Both HDD's have been partitioned and formatted.

I've been through over thirty pages of threads and found discussions involving similar error messages but no solutions other than one guy whose HDD was shot.

HELP! ](*,)

10-78
November 28th, 2010, 10:55 PM
Just for the hell of it I downloaded and installed ISORecorder and burned a DVD of v10.10 at the slowest speed. No difference, I get the same error message.

I'm getting more disappointed in this "help" forum day by day. Where's the help?

ryegras
March 16th, 2011, 10:24 AM
I have exactly the same problem with Ubuntu 10.10 x64 and after trying both DVD/CD drives, PATA and SATA connections, changing from AHCI to IDE in the bios, re-burning the disk etc., and Googling the problem, I can not get Ubuntu to load in any form. Since I am a long time Windows user and fed-up with all the user unfriendly features of Windows 7, I thought I would give Ubuntu a try but the very fact that their install disk will not load leads me to believe that this version is 'not ready for prime time'.