PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hardware/Hardwire Driver problems

deanom
November 26th, 2010, 08:40 PM
Hi All
Firstly, I am a newbie, and could have posted this in a number of the forums.
I have been unable to install a stable version of 10.04, 10.10, or Mint 10. I have confirmed that the DVDs are working by successfully installing each of them onto an old laptop.
At no pointcould I install 10.10, or Mint 10. At each attempt the installation froze during disk partition.
Attempting to install 10.04 has allowed me to get an unstable OS working. Of about 30 attempts, most froze at the same point, as the other versions. Two attempts failed during hardware configuration. One attempt succeeded, but continues to freeze, particularly during software updating.
The first question is what is the difference in the installation processes that allow 10.04 to install, but not the others? Perhaps there is a clue there.
Writing to disk seems to be one of the main triggerss. My motherboard is an Abit AB9, which uses an Intel P965/ICH8 Chipset. It has it's own windows drivers, including a floppy disk for a JMicron SATA RAID driver, which has some relationship to the connector for my Hard Drive, which is a Samsung Spinpoint HD401LJ.
The only other possible clue is that the motherboard battery ran out in the Summer. When I replaced it there was an XP Sevice pack update, which crashed the computer, so there may be some bios settings that have altered when the CMOS was cleared.
I hope that this is enough information to go on, and would just remind you that as a newbie, I may need more detailed descriptions of solutions.

Thanks

Deano

Fafler
November 26th, 2010, 09:49 PM
Have you confirmed the system to be stable with other operating systems?